Welcome to Gretna, VA!
Gretna Gretna Gretna Gretna Gretna Gretna
      Main       Town Departments       Town Leadership       About Gretna       Events      
Town Leadership
The Town of Gretna operates as a Council-Manager form of government. Town Council consists of seven members, six of who shall be known as council members and one to be known as Mayor. The Council out of its membership selects a Vice Mayor. These members are elected by qualified voters of the town at a regular municipal election held on the first Tuesday in May. The Council appoints a Manager who acts as Administrator of town affairs and shall have power and authority to manage and direct all employees of the Town. Other appointed officials are Clerk/Treasurer, Town Attorney and Chief of Police.

The Town Council sets policy and serves as the Legislative, law-making body responsible for adopting ordinances and resolutions, approving annual operating and capital budgets, establishing tax rates and user fees, and appointing citizen members of boards, committees, and commissions.

Regular council meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at Gretna Town Hall. All meeting notices are sent to the Danville Register & Bee and Star Tribune.

R. Keith Motley

H. Wayne Wood

Council Members
H. Wayne Wood
Deborah Moran
James Gilbert
Dianne Jennings
Michael Bond
Ben Farmer

      Contact Us       Webmail      

Copyright © 2006 Town of Gretna. All rights reserved.
IT Solutions by Central Ridge.